The Town of
Westford was chartered on June 8, 1763 as a New Hampshire grant by Governor Benning Wentworth. The town, as granted, covered 36 square miles. The first settlers arrived in 1787 but immigration to Westford was very slow, consisting mostly of scattered self-sufficient farms throughout the town. In 1791, the town’s population was only 63. Part of Westford’s beauty is the Browns River as it winds through the Village flowing north. Picturesque landscapes remain throughout the community. Many roads provide historic and contemporary views of farming and rural living. Most of the roads we use today are the original ones laid out by the early townspeople.
WESTFORD FORM-BASED CODE
CCRPC staff have been assisting the Town of Westford with zoning updates and smart growth initiatives.
MORE ABOUT WESTFORD FORM-BASED CODE »
- Multi-way Stop Analysis for Woods Hollow Rd. Intersections »
- Westford Sidewalk Conceptual Alignment Study »
- Road Safety Audit Review – Milton-Westford Road »
- All of our past Westford planning studies can be found here »
Municipal Plan Review:
- Resolution approving municipal plan and confirming the planning process (CCRPC Board, 2015) »
- Review of the municipal plan (CCRPC Planning Advisory Committee, 2015) »